Leadership in health care private equity since 1986

The Latest News

September 04, 2012

Vidacare Founder Larry Miller, MD to receive prestigious BioMed SA 2012 Julio Palmaz Award for Innovation in Healthcare and the Biosciences

 In recognition of his contributions to the field of medicine and his pioneering role in using intraosseous vascular access to improve patient care and save lives on a global basis, the Founder and Chief Medical Officer of Vidacare Corporation, Dr. Larry Miller, is the 2012 recipient of the prestigious BioMed SA Julio Palmaz Award for Innovation in Healthcare and the Biosciences. Dr. Miller will accept the award, which is named after Palmaz Stent inventor Julio Palmaz, M.D., at BioMedSA’s annual Palmaz Award dinner in San Antonio on Thursday, September 20.

“Dr. Miller’s contribution to medicine through the use of intraosseous vascular access makes him a standout choice for this year’s award,” said Steven A. Davis, MD, the 2012 Palmaz Committee Chair.  “His development of the EZ-IO Intraosseous Infusion System revolutionized the way first responders and clinicians save the lives of critically ill or injured patients and has been recognized globally for its impact on medicine and technology.” 

“Dr. Miller exemplifies the kind of innovation, drive, and heart that’s needed to develop groundbreaking solutions for unmet medical needs,” said Ann Stevens, president of BioMed SA. “This is exactly what the Palmaz Award was developed to recognize and celebrate.”

Previous recipients of the Palmaz Award include Leroy Hood, MD, Ph.D., president and co-founder, Institute for Systems Biology, Seattle, Washington (2011); C. Mauli Agrawal, dean of engineering at The University of Texas at San Antonio (2010); internationally acclaimed inventor Dean Kamen of DEKA Research & Development Corp. in New Hampshire (2009); Karen Davis, Ph.D., president of The Commonwealth Fund in New York (2007); and San Antonio pediatric surgeons Drs. Robert Campbell, Melvin Smith (deceased), and Kaye Wilkins from The University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio and its academic children’s hospital at CHRISTUS Santa Rosa (2008). 

Said Dr. Miller of the honor, “As an emergency physician for 30 years, I spent the first part of my career saving lives one at a time.  I’m so proud that the technology we developed saves numerous lives every single day.” He continued, “For me, it's been an amazing journey, far greater than I ever imagined. I am deeply humbled and immensely grateful to be recognized by BioMed SA with the 2012 Julio Palmaz Award, and to be a member of such a prestigious and respected group of individuals.”  

BioMed SA is a non-profit, membership-based organization designed to accelerate the growth of San Antonio’s biomedical sector, create regional economic benefits, and contribute to the health of San Antonio and beyond by establishing San Antonio as a leader in healthcare and bioscience. 

Established in 2001, Vidacare Corporation is the pioneer of a broad technology platform for accessing the intraosseous (inside the bone) space. Current products include the EZ-IO Intraosseous Infusion System, the OnControl Bone Marrow System and the OnControl Bone Access System.  Applications include vascular access, emergency and disaster medicine, oncology and spinal surgery. Vidacare’s focus on enhancing clinical efficacy, patient safety and comfort, and reducing complications and their associated costs, has resulted in its devices becoming the recognized technology standard. Privately held, the company is based in San Antonio, Texas, and its products are marketed in over 50 countries worldwide.